Skip to main content

1914-15 Medal

The Royal Scots Badge

WW1 Medals & Badges

By Collections blog

In the Museums store we have many different kinds of medals and badges from different regiments and wars. These three badges and medals are all from WW1. These include a badge from The Royal Scots, a WW1 Allied Victory Medal and the 1914-15 Star.


The Royal Scots (The Royal Regiment), once known as the Regiment of Foot, was the oldest and most senior infantry regiment of the line of the British Army, having been raised in 1633 during the reign of Charles 1 of Scotland. The regiment existed continuously until 2006, when it amalgamated with the King’s Own Scottish Borderers to become the Royal Scots Borderers, which merged with the Royal Highland Fusiliers (Princess Margaret’s Own Glasgow and Ayrshire Regiment), the Black Watch, the Highlanders (Seaforth, Gordons and Camerons) and the Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders to form the Royal Regiment of Scotland.

The WW1 Allied Victory Medal as awarded to all those who received the 1914 Star or the 1914-15 Star, and to most of those who were awarded the British War Medal. It was not awarded singly. To qualify, recipients need to have served in the Armed Forces of the United Kingdom or the British Empire, or with certain recognised voluntary organisations, and to have entered any theatre of war between 5 August 1915 and 11 November 1918. While home service did not count, United Kingdom based members of the RAF  who were actively engaged in the air against the enemy did qualify, as did those who flew planes to France. Women qualified for this and other First World War campaign medals while serving in nursing and auxiliary forces in a theatre of war. It was also awarded for mine clearance in the North Sea between 11 November 1918 and 30 November 1919 and for participation in the Allied intervention of the Russian Civil War up to 1st July 1920.

The 1914-15 Star is a campaign medal of the British Empire which was awarded to officers and men of British and Imperial forces who served in any theatre of the First World War against the Central European Powers during 1914 and 1915. The medal was never awarded singly and recipients also received the British War Medal and the Victory Medal. The 1914-15 Star was instituted in December 1918 and was awarded to officers and men who served between 5 August 1914 and 31 December 1915, provided they had not already received the 1914 star. The period of eligibility was prior to the Military Service Act 1916, which introduced conscription in Britain.


Translate »